Fix 15: The Class Assigned Fanfiction

Okay, so this isn’t a Fix per say, but more something to think about.

 

I’m taking two workshop classes this semester, which means that my time is filled up with having to write and insane amount of things and be ridiculously busy since I’m also writing for the newspaper, and maybe getting paid to write for another publication. In other words this is an insane amount of just writing focused work. What about this is interesting to you? One of my teachers asked me to write a five-page fanfiction and then review everyone else’s 5-page fanfiction.

 

Does this sound odd?

 

Well, it’s a little less odd, it’s for Playwriting class. We read Edward Albie’s The Zoo Story, discussed it, and then the teacher told us to write a 5 page sequel due yesterday at 5pm, and to read everyone else’s by class tomorrow. Honestly I’ve done such things before for things like The Giver, but that was in middle school. I’ve done creative papers in College for a Shakespeare class where I updated Julius Caesar to where our friend JC was becoming king of the United States (to analyze the missed historical significance of crowning Caesar). All of those things to a greater or lesser degree are writing a fanfiction.

 

I realized it when I was writing my little 5-page script (happily titled The Zoo News Story). At which point I realized that I had to write it like a fanfiction. For some reason a lot of people think this means that your work becomes less good, but to properly write a fanfiction you have to really understand the medium shift and the original series/characters/writing style/humor, and then be able to put in the time commitment to do the work to write the big piece. In other words there is a real art to proper imitation, especially since you’re not just copying, but creating from someone else’s foundation. It is now looked down it, but this is what Shakespeare did. This is what Virgil did. This is what Dante did.

 

Because of the recent invention of copyright fanfiction is now seen as something dirty, an almost below the law. But please consider the idea that it’s more… beside the law, all art is. There is nothing new under the sun, says (my slight misquote) of the bible. There is nothing new. Art is the ability to take an old idea and recycle it in a way that is able to reach people. Fanfiction is in someways easier because instead of having to come up with a new story about Good vs Evil you can write about Batman or about Harry Potter. At the same time, the narrowing down of the subject matter suddenly opens up the world with a huge amount of possibilities.

 

To quote Yahtzee from Zero Punctuation: “When told I can [do] everything I just can’t think of anything.” Limitations allow for creativity, even if it’s a creative way of getting around those limits. Suddenly only writing in Harry Potter give the writer a focus, and now the hard part starts. To write a good fanfiction you can write your own version on the world, but frankly I get tried of explaining those away. The best writers blend what is their own and what is in the original work.

 

A great example is Ladya C. Maxine’s (Beyblade) story “Our First Noel”, which aside from the BL sticks very close to the characters, and is so incredibly funny that I still end up unable to breathe whenever I re-read it. What the author does is write it from the point of view of a character, and it’s completely from inside his mind. That opened insane possibilities, since most people have very non-linear and odd stray thoughts. This means that a character who normally seems sane and dependable can be incredibly pathetic and funny without losing the original character. Let me add this isn’t an easy thing to do, but the writer was able to blend her own writing style, her own voice, and the original series in a way that is both different from the original series but not at all alien or unfamiliar.

 

So, how does this relate back to my assignment?

 

Truthfully it made me very frustrated because I only had one reading to understand the characters and write a continuation. Thankfully the character of Peter (one of the two leads) is like a pathetic human version of Aziraphale from Good Omens, so much so that when I described what I’d written to my roommate she fell on the floor laughing because she could completely see Aziraphale doing what I had Peter do. This was lucky because I knew how to write it, but I was still frustrated because I couldn’t get the proper character voice down because I’d only had one view on the original work.

 

There are only three types of fanfiction: the type that’s starting out or bad (since all new people to fanfiction will be bad, and probably willfully bad for a while), the type where the writer knows they aren’t good and are trying to improve, the type that’s amazing and really fits with the original while having their own voice.

 

When you’re new or just ignorant your work will fit in category one. My intended audience (and myself for that matter) is in category two, and we should all aspire to category three. I feel like I’ve even achieved category three sometimes, but not always, really it’s not easy but I continue to strive to reach category three.

 

Now, this is more of a spectrum than three different boxes you check off. It’s completely possible that you ma have to hit all three for each new genre or series you write in, or you may skip the first category whenever you skip to a new series, or you may even just hit number three when you hit a new series, but to hit number three you need understanding of writing, writing theory, your own style, the style of the original series, and the knowledge and experience of having written bad fanfics in the past. No one is a natural born writer, it’s something we learn, as such no one is initially good at fanfiction when they begin. It takes practice and work.

 

So, while I do my little fanfic assignments for class I will go in with my pride as a fanfiction writer, and as a novelist, and as produced playwright, and I’ll hold my head up high. As for what you should do the next time your teacher assigns you a fanfiction… write it like a fanfiction, and have fun. Remember that the only reason anyone writes a good fanfiction is because they see something they don’t think anyone else can see. Remember that you’re writing your part of the fandom, and remember that if you’re reading this an nodding along that you’ve probably got some competency and you can figure out something original to write, so don’t stress and have fun.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marysuefixer.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/fix-15-the-class-assigned-fanfiction/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is such a cool assignment!

    • I wish. Actually it’s lame because now I have to read all this bad fanfiction, and trust me, the last one I read sucks so hard it really hurts me a little bit inside.

      • Im sure you’ll find a good one somehow…

      • It was not good -.-, there was even one with a man having sex with a prostitute and then killing her… and it was so weird, and wrong, and not good. Why would my classmate write this?

  2. Some ppl are odd.. cant help it. But all the best in your assignment 🙂


Leave a Reply

